Now that it’s June, I am catching up on some “Best of” reads from 2013 and 2012. I heard a lot about Seating Arrangements last year, and it popped up on more than a few “Best of” lists in December. I’ve been curious about the book–what could possibly deserve such praise?–but I also skeptical, having too often picked up a book because of stellar reviews only to find that it fell short of the hype. And, I admit, the beginning of this novel had me wondering if I wasn’t going to be disappointed.

And then I discovered that it’s clever. Very clever. And funny. Every character is a world. I finished the book a few days ago, and since then I have the delightful sense that I’ve just spent the weekend on the coast even though I’m stuck in central Texas, which is anything but refreshing at the moment. Although I’m grateful to never have been an attendee at a wedding of hilarity and tension such as the one in the novel, I couldn’t be more glad that it was the focus of my first fun read of the summer.

Rather than give you a synopsis, I’ll link to the first review that I heard of the novel, which was by Maureen Corrigan on NPR. The novel is extremely well written, light without being farcical, and worth every word.

