A couple of weeks ago I learned from this Slate article that The New Yorker paywall is down for a couple of months, and all articles from 2007 to the present are available for FREE reading! I’ve read several of the pieces on Slate’s list and the reporting and writing is so good. I knew this; I’ve read the magazine before, but I guess I had forgotten. I started with “Taken” and “The Apostate”–both pieces of great reporting, if somewhat troubling. Actually, “Taken” is more than somewhat troubling. It was a total bummer. But I’m still glad I read it.

The articles on this list are all fairly long. Like most people, I’ve become accustomed to much shorter reads, so these articles felt like a real commitment. But they were worth following through. I’ve so enjoyed these longer articles that I subscribed to Longreads, and now I get a weekly email with looks to some of the best online longreads of each week.

